How to get VISA

Tanzania Visa Process

For entry into the territory of the United Republic of Tanzania for tourism purposes it is necessary to have a valid foreign passport with an expiry date of at least six more months at the moment of crossing the border of the Republic. The passport must have two blank pages for seals and stamps on border crossing.

There are two ways to get a tourist visa.

Receiving VISA upon arrival to Tanzania:

Tourist visa will be stamped into your passport by the immigration authorities of Tanzania upon arrival to the country. You may receive visa on arrival in one of the following border points: 

  • Kilimanjaro International Airport
  • Zanzibar International Airport
  • Dar es Salaam International Airport
  • The border crossings between Kenya and Tanzania (Namanga / Taveta)

Remember that arriving on the territory of Tanzania through other border crossings, you should have a valid visa stamp in your passport. 

Applying an online visa:

The Tanzania Immigration Services department launched a new online visa service. A prospective visitor to the United Republic of Tanzania can now easily apply, make payments and receive his/her Visa grant notice online

To access these services, an applicant is required to visit the Tanzania Immigration Services Department’s website click “e-services” button: select “Online Visa Application”: and fill the Visa Application Form.

Then, an applicant will submit his/her relevant scanned document attachments online; after which he/she will receive an email message containing User Identification Number that he/she can use to track status of his/her visa application online.

Thereafter, an applicant will be required to make payment of his/her visa application fee either by Visa Card, Master Card or Swift Transfer. After payment of the respective fee, an applicant will receive a notification that the payment has been received.

Finally, the applicant will receive a “Visa Grant Notice” through his/her email, and begin his/her trip to the United Republic of Tanzania.

Important information: 

Citizens of the following countries should get a special referred visa in advance in one of the Tanzanian overseas diplomatic missions. Without a visa received in a Tanzanian diplomatic mission, they will be denied entry to the United Republic.

Afghanistan             Ethiopia                                           Mali                                                 Somalia

Abkhazia;                 Eritrea                                              Morocco                                        Sri Lanka

Azerbaijan;              Equatorial Guinea                         Mauritania                                   Tajikistan

Bangladesh              The Republic of Kazakhstan       Niger                                             Turkmenistan

Chad;                        The Republic of Kyrgyzstan         The State of Palestine               Sierra Leone

Djibouti;                   Lebanon                                           Senegal